The Traveller's Magazine icon
The Traveller's Magazine
  •   < 1 min read

The English Lake District has joined a number of other prestigious sites around the world, gaining status as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The English Lake District is known for its stunning natural beauty, including lakes, mountains and fells as well as charming towns and villages. Welcoming around 18 million visitors every year, it’s a popular destination and one of the UK’s most visited national parks. The UK’s largest lake, Lake Windermere, calls the area home; as does its tallest mountain, Scafell Pike.

Now, it has one more accolade to add to its list: UNESCO World Heritage Site. At a meeting in Krakow, Poland last week, the UNESCO committee met to add a number of new sites to its prestigious list – and the Lake District, after more than 30 years of campaigning, has finally made the cut.

Praised for its unique and beautiful landscape, the Lake District joins 30 other British sites to be inscribed on the list.

IMG: Pixabay

Looking for your next trip? Find the best flights with us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

footer logo
Made with for you